Warm Oysters or How My Theory that I Prefer Hot Food was Validated

Warm Oysters with Balsamic Vinegar or as the French say, Les Huitres Tiedes au Vinaigre Balsamique is my final oyster recipe in French Farmhouse Cookbook.

Susan, the author, took a tour on the Breton shore and wined and dined with many an oyster farmer. One in particular suggested Susan try this method which has warmed me up to oysters and I think will be enjoyed by others as well.

There’s something about warm butter and seafood that is extremely comforting for me. The addition of balsamic adds to the warmth in taste without overshadowing the oysters.

I’m actually excited about eating oysters more and look forward to trying out different methods. I admittedly probably won’t make my own anymore. Making your own tends to require some forethought and a special shucking knife that I do not own.

This is a recipe that relies on your own good judgement as far as portions go. I have a feeling some of you might panic when you read that, but rest assured that even I didn’t screw it up.

The cookbook does have the following measurements for those who can’t handle that. I only got 6 oysters and eyed the rest myself.

  • 2 dozen small to medium oysters, scrubbed in the shell
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup best-quality balsamic vinegar

The first step is to pre-heat your oven. Yes you read that right. These oyster pups are gonna get baked.

yeah_half_baked

Don’t get excited, it’s not the kind of baked

Susan suggests that the best way to get the oysters baked is to arranged them on a baking sheet with the cup side down. Spreading salt on the sheet will help stabilize them if you have trouble keeping them balanced.

Once you place the oysters in the oven, you will bake for about 5 minutes. Remove them from the oven and then pry them open as carefully as possible. Once you’ve pried them open, you can remove the outer shell.

The proper consumption method is as follows, drizzle a touch of butter. (When I say touch, I truly mean a miniscule amount. It won’t take much.) The final step is to add 2 to 3 drops of vinegar. You are now prepared for slurping! Enjoy!

IMG_2016

The butter can’t compete with the oyster’s sexiness

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Warm Oysters or How My Theory that I Prefer Hot Food was Validated

    • The French farmer in the cookbook is the same way. According to the book, you shuck after baking. It makes opening them easier too. I was surprised that I got to shuck after myself, but I’m not an oyster expert at all.

  1. Always wondered about that first person who grabbed an oyster, opened it, and thought, “yeah, I’ll stick that in my mouth.”
    I mean, sure, it worked out great, but who was the daring guy who first did it? And do you suppose it really was a dare? 😀

  2. I wonder about a lot of food choices we’ve made in history. If I had a time machine, watching people discover cooking processes and how to eat certain foods would be on a list of many things to see.

    As far as oysters go. I imagine some caveman was dying of hunger and was gnawing on an oyster in a similar fashion as my cat does on random objects. Eventually he or she got frustrated and slammed the oyster on the ground which caused it to pop open. That’s when he or she discovered the greatness of oysters. I like to think that same person also came up with the adage of judging something from the inside as oppose to the outside, but that’s just a romantic theory of mine.

Leave a Reply

