Oatmeal Cookies

I’m not a butcher, I’m not candlestick maker, nor am I’m a baker. I’m not a crook, but I am a cook.

Thank you. I call that poem, Nixon’s Cooking Blog.

On a more serious tone, I do not consider myself a baker. My experience in baking cookies is almost nil. In other words, these are the second cookies I’ve ever made that didn’t come from a Pillsbury tube.

I get nervous when I have to bake, but these cookies from Taste of Home Cooking for Two were not difficult at all to make and I think even Nixon would get great results if he had ever tried making them.

What you’ll need

  • 1/3 cup of shortening
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons beaten egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of quick-cooking oats
  • 6 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts

The first step is to mix the shortening with the sugar. If you didn’t know, I didn’t anyway, shortening is basically butter. You can also use margarine. Whatever you use, make sure it’s been melted. When this process is finished, you add the egg and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine the oats, flour, baking soda, and salt until evenly mixed. Then slowly add this mixture to the butter, vanilla, and egg one. The walnuts will be the final touch to this mixture.

Once everything has been added, grease a cookie pan and spoon in the mixture, leaving 3 inches in between. It is recommended that each spooned in mixture be circular, but feel free to experiment. I wasn’t feeling creative, so I stuck with circles.

Whatever shape you choose, bake those shapes at 350 degrees for 9 to 11 minutes. Once those minutes are up, allow them to cool for about two minutes and then you can turn into the cookie monster and dream about the moon being a cookie so you could eat it.

272b9b363d639843c866239ea6355bfa

I’ve never seen the cookie monster eat anything but chocolate chip cookies. Isn’t that strange? You’d think a cookie monster wouldn’t be so picky.

Like the cookie monster I prefer chocolate chip and am not a big fan of oatmeal cookies, but these were quite good. They were sweeter than any of the oatmeal cookies I’ve had. They were more like sugar cookies with oatmeal and a hint of vanilla than the crunchy granola bar like oatmeal cookies I’ve had in the past.

I brought these cookies to one of my temp offices and everyone seemed to be surprised by how good they were. Like me, they weren’t big fans of regular oatmeal cookies and were pleasantly surprised by this version.

I would make this again and I would add chocolate chips, mostly to please the cookie monster.

IMG_1895.JPG

Oatmeal cookies!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Oh yeah, chocolate chips would be a great addition! I have a recipe for oatmeal cookies that are so thin, they’re more like crackers. I think the sugars kind of caramelize in the process, so they’re pretty good. Otherwise, I’m with you. Oatmeal cookies seem like a waste of calories.

    • Yeah, this recipe is similar to what you make. I actually like regular oatmeal cookies when chocolate chips are added, but chocolate chips almost make everything better.

Leave a Reply

