Maple Ginger Pumpkin Pie

Life has been way too busy. The only reason I have time to write this right now is because I felt sick to my stomach and decided to stay home. I usually have acting class on Wednesday nights.

Naturally the best way to cure an upset stomach is to stay home and write about food right?

I’m exhausted. I’ve been working another 9-5 temp gig and I’ve had to be somewhere right after work for the last week and a half. Most of those events were auditions. In fact,I had to go to Culver City for an audition today. For those of you who are not familiar, Culver City is on the west side and I work/live close to downtown. This means an hour long drive to go only ten miles. Having a chance to audition is worth it, but I need a break from driving and being to places on time.

Why couldn’t I have a slew of auditions when I was in-between temp jobs and doing nothing? I’m getting tired of your games universe! Can we dial it back to easy mode now?

vsa6rfgxl5bpbhxzyauq

Hurt me plenty seems to be the setting I have for relationships too

Thankfully Maple Ginger Pumpkin Pie has a setting of “Hey, not too rough.”

In other words it’s easy to make.

The recipe is from Week Night Menus and I actually made it for Thanksgiving. I waited this long to write about it because I have an OCD setting level of “Hey, not too rough”. My OCD level is ok with making the recipe out of my constructed order, but only if I keep the writing order in tact.

I have problems. That’s my best explanation.

A specific crust recipe is included in this pie recipe, but it isn’t necessary to make. Grocery stores carry frozen crusts that you can add to, but I do feel it’s worth making this crust and as long as you don’t get all Martha Stewart about it, it’s not too difficult.

I have a couple of aunts that make perfect looking crust. They’ll admit it took some time to perfect, so don’t be hard on yourself if you struggle.

What you’ll need for the crust

  • 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup of hazelnut meal or ground nuts
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 6 tablespoons of softened butter
  • 6 tablespoons of cold orange juice or water
  • Super secret bonus option of 1 tablespoon of date sugar

For the Filing

  • 1 15 ounce can of pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup of molasses
  • 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground allspice
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 cup of evaporated fat-free milk
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of finely grated and peeled gingerroot

The first step is to whip out your food processor and pulse the flour, nut meal, spices, and butter. The consistency should be a little crumbly. Pour that mixture into a bowl and slowly add the OJ in.

This process will form your dough and when you mix and pound that dough into a nice shape you will then spread it onto a 9 inch pie pan. Be sure to spray PAM on your pan first. PAM. On. Your. Pan. I like it.

Once you spread your dough on your PAM pan the recipe says, “if desired, sprinkle with date sugar”. You will desire it, so I recommend you just do it. Why deny yourself of your date passions?

Bake your crust sprinkled with or without desire at 325 for 8 to 10 minutes.

While the crust is baking, go ahead and make the filing by combining all the ingredients except the flour and gingeroot in a bowl. Mix this mixture until it blends evenly and then add your remaining two ingredients.

Your filling is now ready to be added to your crust. Marry those two together and send them off on their hot 375 degree honeymoon for 55-60 minutes.

Once time is up all you’ve got to do next is cool the happy couple off until they are ready to be served.

I was pleased with my final result. This was the second pie I ever made and the first time I ever made pie crust. It wasn’t a perfect pie, but it was appetizing. The best way I can describe the taste, is that it is just like Pumpkin pie with an added kick of ginger.

Admittedly the ginger could be a bit overpowering. I’d dial that back a little next time, but the maple flavor was delicious. My crust came out a little crumbly too, which I’m not sure was supposed to happen. It’s not your typical crust recipe and it reminded me of the crust for cheesecake. Whether it’s supposed to be crumbly or not, it tasted delectable and that’s what matters most for me.

FullSizeRender

The Pie

 

6 thoughts on “Maple Ginger Pumpkin Pie

  1. Seriously though! That has been my life for the past year. It’s nothing to the extent I want to hang myself to being so over burdened by work, acting, and personal drama. Give me a break from the nightmare setting please.

Leave a Reply

