A Pilaf for your Weary Head

Wait, I mean stomach. No, a pillow! GAH! A pilaf for your weary stomach and a pillow for your weary head!

I need both right now.

LA has been mid-west hot the last two days. Meaning it’s been real humid lately and my air conditioning is not quite equipped for that. So I did not sleep well last night and I had to get up early for my temp job which has resulted in my brain being fried to pieces.

Speaking of my new temp job, today I noticed that my official title is, Rachel, Payment Process Manager. When I saw that, I was like, “Ooooooooo, I’m a manager!”

Then the smarter half of my brain was like, “Dude, Rachel, that’s just a fancy term for, you input payment information that a real manager has told you to do, because you are a temp. A data entry temp.”

What a buzz kill smart half of Rachel’s brain is. At the very least I can throw that term around and fool others into thinking it’s impressive. I mean that’s why they invented such titles anyway.

As for the subject at hand. This Quinoa Vegetable Pilaf from Taste of Home Cooking for Two is a true comfort for a fried, tired brain and a hungry stomach. It is a spa for your mind and body in a form of food. I’m too tired to think of a specific spa room comparison though. Is it a red clay ball pit room, a sauna, or a jade room?

Maybe it should just be a pilaf room. That actually sounds kind of nice. I should open a spa with a pilaf room.

What you’ll need for your pilaf room is, 2 tablespoons of finely chopped onion, 2 tablespoons of chopped carrot, 1/2 teaspoon of canola oil, 1/4 cup of jasmine rice, 1/4 cup of quinoa, 1 cup of chicken broth, pepper, and 1/3 cup of chopped fresh broccoli.

The first step is to saute the onion and carrot in a saucepan with the oil, until it is tender. You will then add the rice and quinoa. Mix it well with the onion and carrot and then add the broth and pepper.

Bring this to a boil and then simmer under low heat for 15-20 minutes. I recommend checking how long it takes the rice and quinoa to cook to aid you in your time limit. Either way, you will add your broccoli in the last three minutes of cooking time.

After the broccoli has cooked, remove from heat and let your pilaf cool for five minutes.

The final step is to fluff before you serve.

I’m holding back on some real dirty jokes right now.

I guess now that I have an adult job, I’ll be an adult and tell you that the final result of my pilaf was quite good. It is fluffy and the bit of oil secreted onto the rice and quinoa almost make it taste like fried rice.

I  paired mine with some chicken on the side, but I feel like this would be good with a side of salmon as well. I would be intrigued to make it similar to fried rice by adding peas or shrimp/pork. I feel like it’s a healthier version of fried rice anyway. I’m no nutritionist though, so don’t go blindly believing me on that.

IMG_1329

A serendipitous pilaf

Leave a Reply

