Crème de Maïs, French for Cream of Corn Soup

I was skeptical about this recipe. Despite the fact that I was born and raised in Indiana, I’m not really a corn lover. I know, it’s blasphemous of me. On second thought, maybe I just don’t like raw corn, because I do love popcorn and cornbread. These are deep-rooted issues I must explore. Am I denying my heritage by refusing corn? Do I only care for corn that mixes with other ingredients or learns to puff themselves up out of a kernel? Who knew I could make food into a metaphor about my life?

Anyway, this recipe comes from At Home with the French Classics, but it’s not authentic for those who care about that sort of thing. The author fully admits it’s more of a French-American classic, because he uses milk instead of Béchamel sauce. He seems to feel it doesn’t take away from the taste though. The major differences are more aesthetic.

What you’ll need to make this is, 5 tablespoons of butter, 1 diced onion, 2 diced carrots, 1 diced celery stalk, 1/3 cup of all-purpose flour, 4 cups of water, 4 cups of milk, and about 4 cups of fresh corn.

The first step is to heat your butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Once melted, add the vegetables and gently saute for 2-3 minutes. Then add the flour and stir once in awhile for about 4 minutes.

Once everything is cooked, but not browned, you will add the water, milk, and corn. Bring this to a boil and then simmer for about 10 minutes. Again, be sure to stir it once in awhile. Occasional stirring is extremely important in all kinds of cooking, but especially soups it seems.

After your 10 minutes are up, feel free to season with salt and pepper and simmer under medium-low heat for 40 minutes. Check it for foam periodically and skim the foam when you see it until your 40 minutes are up.

The final result should be a light and creamy texture. If it’s not though, there are solutions. If it’s too thick, add water and if it’s too thin, just boil it some more.

I was pleased with my final result, but I didn’t have high expectations as I mentioned earlier. It’s not something I would love to have again, but it wasn’t bad either. If you or someone you love, loves corn though, by all means try this recipe out. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

IMG_1317 (1)

The crème de la crème of corn soup

Leave a Reply

