Blueberry Shortcake with Ginger

This scrumptious dessert comes from Cooking Light. I have a confession to make. I almost spelled dessert, desert. I can’t think of any desert being scrumptious, unless it was a desert made of sugar. That could be good.

I’m glad I caught that, though. My grammar is abysmal at times, I know. I need an editor because grammar frustrates me. I also can’t stand grammar snobs. Proper use of grammar doesn’t always denote level intelligence, but grammar snobs swear to it as a ruler of intelligence. I should note this isn’t true about every grammar snob, some of them just worked hard on their grammar and go nuts when people like me throw it out the window. I get those grammar snobs.

So this dessert is made with sugar and ginger, which is a lovely combination. It’s also made with 4 cups of blueberries, 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, 1 tablespoon of lime juice, 9 ounces of all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 6 tablespoons of chilled butter, 3 tablespoons of minced crystallized ginger, 3/4 cup of 2% milk, 1 large egg white, 1 tablespoon of water, 1 tablespoon of turbinado or granulated sugar, 1/3 cup, 1/3 cup of heavy whipping cream, and 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar.

The first step is to preheat your oven to 400 degrees and to heat the first three ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat until the berries pop. Once the berries have popped, set aside.

Then get your best blender out and pour the flour, baking powder, and salt inside. Pulse that three times and then add the butter and ginger. Pulse this until the mixture is nice and coarse. Dump the mix into a bowl and then add milk. Stir until the flour is a dewy dough. Once dewy, place on a floured surface and flatten out into a 7-inch circle. Cut the dough into 8 wedges.

Now place those wedges onto a baking sheet and brush with an egg white mixture. The egg white mixture is just an egg white and 1 tablespoon of water. After you brush, you will sprinkle with sugar and then bake for about 20 minutes.

After your shortbread is baked, set it on a wire rack to cool and prepare your cream topping. For the cream, you will mix the cream in a bowl along with powdered sugar until it bubbles a bit.

To serve, you will cut the shortcake in half and place the berries on the bottom half and dress with the cream. The final step is to cover with your other cake half and eat vigorously.

I almost burned my shortcake, so do be sure to check up on your shortbread during the baking portion. Other than that, making this was smooth sailing. It turned out well too. Taste wise it was like a fresh and lighter version of the scones you can buy at major coffee shops. The ginger was an interesting add of taste as well. It was slightly bitter with a hint of sweetness. I haven’t had much experience with crystallized ginger and was pleasantly surprised by the taste.

I’m not a big baker, as some of you might remember reading, but this is something I would make again for the right crowd. I’m not sure what the right crowd would be, but I’m sure I’ll know when I see it.

IMG_1213

Open faced shortcake

IMG_1214

Shortcake scone of blueberry

Leave a Reply

