Aubergines en Vinaigre AKA Pickled Eggplant

I haven’t posted in a good while. I was busy putting up scenes in my acting class like a mad Max Furiosa and once I was done with that I booked an extra gig for an independent film that lasted a couple of days. I don’t normally do extra work, but I’m still looking for a day job and needed the money. I did meet a fellow actress who was in a similar boat though. She was from England and could only do work related to the entertainment field because of her visa.

She was not happy to be doing extra work at all! I liked her though. We bonded over our mutual hatred for feeling the pressure to promote ourselves on social media, The Kardashians and how they are promoting that behavior, selfies, butt selfies, and actors who just want to be pretty and not artists. I found a fellow snob, basically.

Not that I disliked the other extras. I overheard some real funny stuff actually. That’s the best part of doing background work, meeting kooky characters. One woman, who had to have been at least my parent’s age, but seemed older to me, (my parents are in their mid 60s) claimed to have a 22 year old friend with benefits. I know it’s terrible of me and I kept my mouth shut, but if I had no filter I would have asked what this kid saw in her. She wasn’t an ugly woman, but I still couldn’t wrap my head around it. As I was pondering this a woman who was probably in her 40s, who did seem like someone who could attract 22 year olds said, “You gotta be careful with the young ones, they get attached!”

My mind was blown and at the same time it kind of made me feel better at getting older and being single. I mean these women are still dating and seem to have an active sex life. It makes me feel like there’s hope for me. My last three boyfriends were all younger than me, so I like to joke that I am a cougar-in-training. I swear I don’t do it on purpose though. It just keeps happening.

It seems I’ve digressed enough, so let’s move on to the recipe at hand. This recipe is from French Farmhouse and is another easy, simple recipe that is more about waiting than actual doing, which funny enough, is a lot like doing background work on a film. I swear I didn’t even intend to make that distinction, but there it is wrapped in a pink bow for you.

I still have some waiting to do in fact and will update this entry once the eggplant is ready. The reason I have to wait is because it’s a pickled recipe, which basically means putting a bunch of ingredients in a jar and waiting two weeks or so.

For this pickled eggplant, you will need 2 medium eggplants cut into 1/2 inch cubes, 2 teaspoons of sea salt, 1 1/2 cups of red wine vinegar, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 peeled, 10 black peppercorns, 15 sprigs of fresh thyme, 3 imported bay leaves, and olive oil.

The first step is to place the eggplant cubes in a colander. You will then sprinkle the eggplant with the salt and allow it to drain for about an hour to an hour and a half. Once drained, pat the eggplant dry and place in a large soup pan along with the vinegar, 2 unpeeled garlic cloves, 5 peppercorns, a handful of thyme, and 2 bay leaves. Bring this to a boil, then reduce and simmer for 20 minutes.

Once that’s over with, you will drain the liquid, cool the eggplant and then place it in jars with the remaining ingredients. The final step is to fill your jar with olive oil until everything is covered.

Refrigerate this jar for about 3 to 4 weeks. I have a couple of weeks to go myself, but once it’s ready I plan to use my eggplant in an udon noodle stirfry of some sort. The author of French Farmhouse recommends using it on pizza or as an appetizer paired with Sourdough bread. I have to say those sound like good options as well.

For now, though, here is a lovely picture of my jarred eggplant.

IMG_1210

So here is the update on the pickled eggplant. I ended up making a pizza with jalapenos, onion, manchango cheese, and Parmesan. I also added them to some ramen noodles for a stir-fry. The stir-fry also had jalapenos and onions, but I added to chicken as well.

The stir-fry was ok. The vinegar in the eggplant didn’t really mesh well with the sauces I used for the noodles. The pizza, was delicious though! See the results below.

IMG_1242

Eggplant pizza

IMG_1252

Eggplant ramen

Leave a Reply

