Scallops and Gravy

There are four foods that almost everyone (excluding dietary restrictions naturally) universally seems to like, ice cream, pizza, bacon, and gravy.

I like three of those things. I even like two of those things together. I have never ever liked gravy though. My brother, on the other hand loves gravy. He would sometimes pour it on my mashed potatoes just to watch my eyes turn red. Then he’d laugh and ask me if he could eat mine. I’d like to think my brother was trying to teach me at an early age that all men are bastards, but something tells me he just wanted more mashed potatoes and gravy.

This recipe, which I got from Weeknight Menus, made it seem like this was a non gravy like sauce. They presented it so well. They called it Seared Scallops with Ginger-Thyme Pan Sauce. Doesn’t that sound lovely?

What they should have called it was, Ginger Gravy, because that’s what it tasted like to me. I kind of wish my brother was around to try this meal, because he might have liked it. Despite this disappointment though, it was still an edible meal for me. I didn’t enjoy myself, but I didn’t want to spit it out either. So there’s a saving grace.

If you enjoy gravy and want to try this out, here’s what you’ll need. 8 large scallops, 2 tablespoons of butter, 2 minced shallots, 1 tablespoon of minced ginger, 1 cup of thinly sliced carrots, 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh thyme, 1/3 cup of white wine, 1 cup chicken stock, salt, pepper, and canola oil.

The first step is to pre-heat your pan with the canola oil under medium heat. Season your scallops with some salt and pepper and then heat them in the pan for about 3 minutes or until golden brown. Once brown and golden, you will remove the scallops and replace them with one teaspoon of butter. Cook the shallots, ginger, and carrots with this butter until it melts. Once melted, you will add the wine and thyme until the wine reduces. After that add your stock.

Admittedly the reason my sauce turned gravy like, might have been because I used these chicken stock pods instead of buying a whole can of chicken stock. I was trying to save money/ingredient use. I hate wasting food. I always feel so guilty when an ingredient goes to waste. I really wish there was a way to buy 1/4 cup of whipping cream and one cup worth of chicken stock because everytime a recipe calls for that my leftover stock and cream goes bad and into the trash.

So, the pod chicken stock did seem a little thicker then the one I’ve bought from the can. I probably needed to add water to it. I admittedly just plopped the pods in and didn’t check to see if you were supposed to add anything to it. I’m guessing water would have helped.

After you add all those things, you will simmer and reduce the liquid in half. After that’s done you whisk in another tablespoon of butter. This should complete your journey of making ginger gravy.

So as I said, I wasn’t a fan of this dish. I think if I had used actual chicken stock it would have turned out better. Looking back, it did seem like the overpowering taste was the chicken stock. Water or using actual stock would have resulted in less over-powering sensation.

If you are a gravy lover, though, this could be an interesting alternative. I dare you to try.

IMG_1201

Gravy scallops and rice

Leave a Reply

