Real Gouda Cheese Filled Dates

I actually let go of my OCD nature when I made these dates. My classmates decided to have an Easter party and I didn’t want to make stuffed peppers for two, nor soup. So I let myself skip to this appetizer from Portlandia.

I also realize Easter was awhile ago. Although I was able to skip to making the recipe, I had to stick to the order of when I wrote about making it. I know I have issues. Knowing is half the battle they say. I say it’s more like a quarter though.

A funny thing happened on my way to making these dates though. My classmates are actors, cause it’s an acting class. So you can imagine we have some pun and hammy lovers in the mix. We know that I’m an offender of such myself.

So I wrote I was going to bring cheese stuffed dates on our facebook invite and someone replied with, “I went on cheese stuffed date once. It was pretty gouda, but after awhile she turned out to be a real Muenster.”

He kept going with the puns. It was kind of impressive, but we didn’t let him know that. We naturally begged him to stop and I apologized to the whole group for inspiring our friend’s ode to cheese puns.

So to make a date full of puns you will need 24 Medjool dates. Side note, are there other types of dates? Do they specify Medjool so that people like my friend won’t make puns? What’s up with that? Well I looked it up just now and there does seem to be different types. I have only gone on Medjool dates though.

I not so secretly do love puns everyone. I can’t help it. I’m a sad individual I know. This was not a real gouda one either.

So you’ve got your dates. What else do you need? You need cheese and ham. Cause this date is like my friend, hammy and cheesy. Specifically though, you will need a 1/4 cup of finely chopped ham, 1/2 cup of shredded Manchego cheese and 24 almonds to smooth things over.

The first step to making your dates is to pre-heat the oven to 350. Slash each date in the middle and remove the seeds inside. Once the seeds are removed you will fill the dates with the ham, cheese, and almonds.

After the stuffing process you bake the dates for about 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

The end result is tasty. Dates have a sweet flavor that is hard for me to describe. It’s sort of like a raisin, only not as tart. So the combination of the sweetness of the date and the slightly bitter flavor from the cheese and ham causes you to feel like you are eating a strange and complex dessert. Yet it’s not a desert. Like I said I have hard time describing it, but you’ll be happy to know that it is truly real gouda.

I mean it’s not made with gouda, but yeah puns and stuff.

IMG_1092

Manchego and Medjool dates

Leave a Reply

