Seafood Salad

Like The Dude from The Big Lebowski, I am a bum; but hey, at least we’ve got hobbies. I’ve got acting and cooking. He’s got bowling and wacky tabaccy. To each his own.

I was slacking with my hobbies last week though! In fairness to myself, I was busy not being a bum for once. Although truthfully I still felt like a bum, because mostly all I did was sit in a room reading all day. I got paid though. That was nice.

Anyway, my next recipe is Shrimp and Scallop Salad with Mandarin-Poppy Seed Dressing from Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade Meals. It’s another easy recipe and what you’ll need are 4 ounces of bay scallops, 1 can (15 oz) mandarin oranges, 8 oz of baby shrimp, 4 cups of arugula, and 1/4 cup of poppy seed dressing.

Like most salads, this recipe is extremely easy where most of the work is in the preparation. This salad is surprisingly low maintenance even in that area though. The most labor intensive part of the recipe is cooking your scallops in simmered water for 4 minutes. Then, if you want, which I did, you can cut them. After that, all you do is mix all the other ingredients together and toss.

The only note even when doing that is to be sure to reserve 2 tablespoons worth of the juice in the canned oranges to also toss with your salad.

Other than that, this is one of the easiest recipes I’ve made so far. As for my taste review, however, it was ok. I don’t think that’s the recipe’s fault though. I’m not a huge fan of seafood salads in general.  I prefer my seafood to be grilled or fried and not in a salad. The only exception for me is sushi. I’m not sure exactly why this is though. There’s something about compacting raw seafood in a roll of rice that is just so damn delicious. I can’t explain it.

Fruit with fruit of the sea salad.

Fruit with fruit of the sea salad.

Leave a Reply

