Cavolfiore Fritto in Pastella (Sicilian for Fried Cauliflower)

This recipe comes from my Sicilian cookbook, Sicilian Cookery. I sadly don’t have much to say about this one. There are no major funny mishaps to talk about and I don’t have any good side stories. So I suppose I will get to the actual recipe.

What you need for this is 1 head of cauliflower, 1 cup of flour, 2 eggs, 1 anchovy, and oil for frying. I should note that I did not use any anchovies when I made this. If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know I loathe anchovies. So, feel free to give that a try, but anchovies and I are finito.

I feel somewhat guilty about not liking them, though. I’m a quarter Italian and half of that is Sicilian, but I hate anchovies. Anchovies are all over this cookbook. I’m starting to wonder if my Sicilian ancestors were kicked out of Sicily because they also hated anchovies. My only other theory is that my German and Irish ethnicity overtake my tastebuds whenever I give anchovies a shot. I do really like potatoes, sauerkraut, and bratwursts afterall. Who knows? It’s an ongoing investigation.

The first step in making fried cauliflower is to boil your cauliflower in salted water. Once boiled, you drain the water and break off the cauliflower into florets. While your cauliflower is boiling, you can make your batter, which consists of the eggs and flour. Do this by beating the eggs first and then slowly sprinkling in the flour. Continue to beat the mixture, keeping it nice and smooth. The next step is to add the anchovies, bleh! If you do, cut the anchovies first into small pieces and then beat them along with the flour.

You should have a nice smooth anchovy batter after that, which you will use to dip and smother your cauliflower with. I struggled with this part because the batter stuck more to my hands then the cauliflower. If I were to do this over again, I would have probably dipped my hands in some flour to prevent this. This was something I was aware of, but did not do for some reason. So, silly me.

Hopefully you’ll have more success with this. Either way, once the cauliflower is dipped in batter you are going to fry them in canola oil until they are a nice soft brown. I did not fry mine very well, but it was still tasty. I like cauliflower unfried though, so I wasn’t disappointed. Despite that, this recipe probably wasn’t a success for me. Frying is not my forte, but oh well, that’s what fast food restaurants are for.

Semi-fried cauliflower

Semi-fried cauliflower

Leave a Reply

