A Chex Mix Fit for an Admiral

This Chex mix comes from Light and Healthy which is a cookbook I love, but I am getting tired of making Chex mixes. Thankfully this is the last one. The next recipe will be hummus, which I am excited about.

What you need for this mix is 5 cups of Corn or Rice Chex cereal, 2 cups of oyster crackers, 1 cup each of Pepperidge Farm Cheddar and Pretzel Goldfish, 1 cup of broken Melba toast, 2 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons of canola oil, 2 tablespoons of hot sauce, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning.

With all these Chex mixes, the first step is to pre-heat your oven to 250 degrees and the next is to combine all of your crackers, Chex, and etc. into a large bowl. For this recipe you mix the listed ingredients until you get to the butter. From the butter on, are ingredients for the sauce you will pour on your mix later.

For my mix, I really mixed it by using both Corn and Rice Chex, which turned out well. I should also note that like I wrote in my last mix entry, I had trouble finding Melba toast, so I substituted with Brioche toast from Trader Joes again. Other than that, this portion of the recipe went as listed and planned.

Making the sauce for these mixes is always my favorite part. I get a real kick out of watching butter melt. I’m not entirely sure why. It just amuses me.

So as you can guess you are going to melt your butter with the oil, lemon juice, hot sauce, and seasoning over medium-low heat. There isn’t a whole lot of cooking time with this, you just cook until the butter has completely melted and then you drizzle and mix with your mix.

I did have one problem with the sauce portion though. I could not find Old Bay seasoning. Thankfully there are solutions for this. You can either make your own or substitute with Emril’s Essence. There are some great recipes out there for Old Bay Seasoning and it doesn’t look difficult, but I’m not exactly rolling in the dough and that mix requires a lot of spice shopping. So I decided to go for Emril’s Essence, which turned out to be a more than suitable replacement.

Other than that, the rest of the recipe is the same deal as with the other mixes which is baking in the oven for 45 minutes with shuffle breaks every 15 minutes.

This turned out well, but I thought the Barbecue Chex Mix was better. Like always, I brought this to my acting class. I do have a plot twist about that though! I got moved to the advanced level at my school so I had new people to inflict my mixes upon. They seemed to enjoy it like my class before did. I look forward to continually bribing them with food in the future.

IMG_1061

Fishy fish mix

Leave a Reply

