Herbal Potato Salad with Squash and Trash Pickles

This potato salad comes from Cooking Light. I don’t know what else to say about that and have no good segue, so let us move on to the next paragraph.

I wanted to like this potato salad. I like potatoes and I like squash but gherkin pickles ruined it for me. Gherkin pickles are in my opinion, the trash version of pickles and are gross. Other people probably like them and I say good for them, but this girl right here thinks they are trash.

The good news is that if you think they are trash like I do, you can substitute with capers. So keep that in mind.

If you want to discover whether or not you think gherkin pickles are trashy, the first step is to boil your  2 pounds worth of baby red potatoes. Once boiled, you allow the potatoes to simmer for 18 minutes. Once tender, you drain, cut into quarters and set aside.

Your next step is to grill a yellow squash. I do not have a grill, so I just placed my squash on my oven rack, with foil protection, of course. You want to set your heat to a medium high setting. For my oven I think I put it on 350. Before you do that though you want to cut your squash into 1/2 inch slices, spray lightly with cooking oil, and sprinkle with pepper and salt.

You will grill each side until they are browned and tender. Once that is done, you will mix them with the potatoes.

The next step is to make your trashy dressing which consists of 1/3 a cup of chopped fresh chives, 3 tablespoons of parsley, 2 tablespoons of basil, 1 tablespoon of tarragon, 1/4 teaspoon of grated lemon rind, 3 tablespoons of lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of water, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of chopped trash pickles, and salt and pepper. Throw all these things into a bowl and whisk. Pour that over your potatoes and squash and toss lightly.

Like I said, I was not a fan of this dish. Trash pickles give it a strange sweet flavor that I was just not a fan of. The spices used for the dressing were tasty though and I’d bet I would have liked this if I had left out the pickles.

IMG_1042

Potato, Squash, and Trash

Leave a Reply

