The French Way to Eat a Radish

This is less of a recipe and more of a suggestion. It comes from The French Farmhouse Cookbook. The author of this cookbook calls this the best little springtime snack. I was skeptical. I mean, come on, we are talking about radishes as snacks people.

Well, the French have opened my eyes. I found myself enjoying radishes in a way I never thought possible. Don’t get me wrong, if I was able to eat whatever I wanted and not get fat or sick, I would pick chili cheese fries over radishes. However, if you are a former fat kid that is trying to stay a former fat kid, this is the way to go.

If you are wondering, yes I was a former fat kid and I’m still not model thin or anything, but I’ve come a long way.

So how to eat radishes, French style, is as follows. Get a small bowl and put some sea salt in it. Grab a slice of sourdough or french bread baguette style. Butter the slice with butter, naturally. Dip your radish in salt, take a bite of that, and then a bite of your bread. I told my mother about this dish and her response was, “Oh it’s like a tequila shot!”

Way to be an alcoholic mom, but yes it’s like a tequila shot only without the ensuing embarrassment that comes after, like singing songs in the back of vehicles because you’ve had too much, dancing on bar tabletops, and/or making some poor life choices that you wish you could take back.

Radishes won’t do that to you. They are nice, well-mannered, little things. They make good boyfriends. I need to find a radish boyfriend. Sad face, sad face, everyone.

IMG_1031

Salt, radish, bread

Leave a Reply

