Shrimp and Pork Belly, a Portlandia Pairing

My next dish comes from the Portlandia cookbook. It’s official name is Sautéed Shrimp with Piquillos, Olives, and Pork Belly. It’s another easy recipe that one can also get creative with. The book suggests to eat it with a side of crusty bread. I had it that way and for my leftovers with rice, but I could see this making an interesting filling for tacos or burritos as well.

My only gripe about this dish was that I couldn’t find piquillos. I probably could have found them at a Mexican market, but sometimes I just want to be able to get everything I need in one store. I’ve sadly contributed to the decline of mom and pop stores it seems. That’s why specialty mom and pop stores are the way to go.

To solve my laziness problem, I looked up piquillo substitutes on my phone and was told red bell pepper would work. The red bell peppers did work, but if I had to do it over again I would have picked jalapenos instead. This is because I love spicy peppers though, so if you like things mild, the red bell peppers are fine.

The first step in the cookbook is to boil the pork belly. I bought my pork belly from Trader Joe’s and it appeared to me that boiling the pork belly was not necessary so I skipped this step. Either way the next step is slice the pork belly into 1/4 inch pieces, place in a skillet with olive oil, and cook until crisp.

Once cooked, you remove the pork from the pan and set aside. In the same pan you add shrimp, garlic, paprika, and salt. Stir the shrimp frequently and cook until pink. Once your shrimp has turned pink you add your peppers, some sliced Spanish olives, and a bit of white wine. Cook this until the liquid is reduced to half of it’s original amount.

The final step after that is to add your pork and let that simmer for a minute or so. After that you’ve got a tasty small meal or appetizer, depending on your situation naturally.

IMG_0987

Shrimp and pork with brioche bread.

Leave a Reply

