Pasta Caprese

This cookbook comes from Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade Meals. I really love this cookbook and it’s the one cookbook I actually used frequently before I started this hobby of mine.

The recipe I made this time around is called Spinach Pasta Caprese, but I had to make it with regular pasta. For some reason the major pasta brands decided to do away with spinach pasta. I couldn’t find it anywhere at Von’s. They had some vegetable spaghetti, but no spinach. So I just bought regular fettucini. The recipe specifically called for spinach fettucini. I thought about getting the vegetable spaghetti, but I feel the texture and size of the pasta matters more in a dish than whether it’s whole grain, regular, or vegetable. I’ve had spinach pasta before and didn’t really notice a drastic change in taste, so I felt getting the right pasta shape was more important.

This dish is so simple to make. It doesn’t take much effort at all. Boiling pasta is the easiest thing in the world and the sauce is easy as pie too. Easy as pie is not a statement that makes sense to me though. Unless they mean it goes down easy. That makes sense, but making pies isn’t that easy.

Anyway, for the sauce, the first step is to saute some garlic for a bit. Once it’s nice and cooked you add a can of diced tomatoes and let that boil. Once it’s boiled, you remove it from the heat and add it to your cooked pasta. Then you just add some fresh torn mozzarella bits, some basil, and a bit of olive oil. Stir that around and you’ve got a pretty decent pasta dish.

Taste wise, this dish is very simple. There’s not a whole lot to it, but if you love mozzarella and basil, you’ll probably be ok with that. I personally love caprese salads, so I liked this dish. I’d say it’s a great alternative for when you’re too hungry for just a caprese salad.

IMG_0968

It’s hard to see, but there are tomatoes, cheese, and basil in there.

Leave a Reply

