For Your Health; Blueberry Pomegranate Smoothie

This smoothie comes from my Cook This, Not That cookbook. I have one more smoothie to go in this cookbook, which I’m eager to get to because after the smoothie section is a Huevos Rancheros recipe.  I love Huevos Rancheros so this is a big deal for me.

I like smoothies too, but making them isn’t too exciting. I mean I don’t have any jokes to make about this recipe nor any tie ins to ramble about.

I’m kinda sad about that. I bet I’ll find something though. I really good at going off into tangents.

Anyway, this recipe calls for yogurt, frozen blueberries, pomegranate juice, and flaxseed. For the most part it’s pretty healthy. The flaxseed is what really jumps it into healthy territory. Apparently current studies show that flaxseed might help with breast cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. It also may aid in weight loss. I’m always skeptical about health trends myself, so I take these things with a grain of salt. Except garlic and tea. I truly think garlic is a  magical healing food and when I think I’m getting sick and drink about a gallon of tea with honey, I tend to not get sick. That could all be in my head though.

The only tip I’ll point out is that I recommended adding the blueberries last in your blender. When I made this smoothie the fist time, I added them first and my blender kind of hated me for it. So be nice to your blender and don’t bombard it with blueberries.

IMG_0956

Smoothie in Blue and Pomegranate

Leave a Reply

