Chex Mix for your Barbecue Garden Party

I’m back on the Light & Healthy cookbook for another chex mix. This one is barbecue themed. I have a confession to make. I’m not really into chex mixes. Thankfully, I only have one more to go in this book. I keep bringing them to my acting class as well, where they are enjoyed and get eaten up. So at least I don’t have to eat chex mix by myself like the sad person I am.

I just realized a coincidence that I feel like sharing. I’ve mentioned an ex boyfriend on here in a couple of entries. You might remember him from my artichoke recipe. In fact, I think I will call  him Artichoke from now on. Anyway as much of a jerk Artichoke was to me, one of the good things we had with each other was being able to joke around.

For example, one night we watched Beetlejuice together and when the scene with Lydia that I have a gif of above came on he looked at me and said, “That’s you.”

I responded with another quote that took place earlier in the movie, which is, “My whole life is a dark room.”

His pet name for girlfriends is pook and my special pook power was being troublesome. I was his troublesome pook, which I admittedly found endearing and annoying at the same time. I learned to embrace it and when he’d called me his troublesome pook I would respond with one of those two quotes. It was our way of affection and my way of making fun of myself.

I do relate to Lydia’s character which I feel like people might find surprising, because I’ve never dressed like a goth or emo kid. I’m always being complimented on my nice smile and apparently I project a pleasant demeanor, but there is an inner goth/emo girl who lives inside of me. I also can be extremely goofy though. In fact I may have a split personality, I’m not sure.

Anyway, the big coincidence reveal is that today is actually that ex’s birthday. I’ll spare you all the other thoughts that have sprung up realizing this though, because I’m aware I’m really bad about editing my content and staying on track as it is.

Just know there are a lot of thoughts that spring into other thoughts that go down rabbit holes that lead to wonderlands of nightmarish qualities.

So let’s get back on track with the recipe, because today is day of barbecue snack mixes and not mad hatter tea parties.

The first step is to preheat the oven to 250. In a bowl you combine corn chex, tortilla chips, Melba toast, pretzel sticks,and smoked almonds. I couldn’t find Melba toast at Von’s and Trader Joe’s got rid of theirs, so I substituted with some dried toast cracker things that a Trader Joe’s employee directed me to. They were close enough, so you can substitute with that.

Set that aside, to concoct a special barbecue sauce. To concoct, you heat on medium low heat; butter, oil, barbecue sauce, chili powder, oregano, and cayenne pepper for about a minute. Once everything has simmered nicely you pour it over your chex mixture and toss.

Once tossed, you stick the mixture in a pan and bake for 45 minutes with stirring breaks every 15 minutes or so. It is suggested that after baking you allow to cool for about an hour. I ate a bite soon after and it was delicious, so if you want to stick it to the cookbook man, it’s safe to do so.

Lydia's mix of existential angst

Lydia’s mix of existential angst

Leave a Reply

