Strawberry Salad

For those of you who have read my other entries, you know I like to come up with what are hopefully funny and creative titles. I couldn’t for this one. I thought about Strawberry Salad…Forever, but that just felt too cheap. I imagined John Lennon and George Harrison coming to me late at night in spirit to chastise me for making such an awful joke in expense of their song. Then they would haunt Ringo and Paul until they came to visit me in person to do the same.

Speaking of The Beatles I actually like the movie Caveman, which stars Ringo, by the way. My brother and I used to watch it on HBO when we were kids. It’s not a great movie, true, but it has it’s moments. It still makes me laugh and it’s entertaining. Also some nostalgia is involved because whenever my brother and I would hurt ourselves my mother would ask us if we were pooka. If you’ve seen the film, you’ll understand that reference.

Anyway, because of this movie, Ringo was my favorite Beatle for a very long time. Then 500 Days of Summer (or 500 Days of Bummer as a friend of mine likes to call it) came out. In that movie Zooey Deschanel’s character also claims that Ringo is her favorite. I have such issues, ladies and gentlemen. I hate that movie so much and that character that I was like, “Ringo is not my favorite Beatle anymore!”

I really didn’t give the decision of my favorite much thought anyway. I grew up with The Beatles because of my parents and I didn’t really listen nor appreciate them as much because The Beatles were like second nature to me. Also I can be such a hipster. I didn’t want to be like everyone else and love The Beatles when I was young. I’m trying to let that go, but it became thing for me to not like what everyone else liked long before it was a thing. Honestly, it was. I am a purebred hipster, unfortunately. There’s a reason I turned out that way though and someday I’ll write about it.

There is a good reason why everyone loves The Beatles. They were a perfect quartet of talent and personality and they were able to transform their image and style with ease.

Plus, I watched A Hard Day’s Night for the first time a couple of years ago and it made me fall in love with each one of them. If you haven’t seen it, do so.

Back to this recipe though. It’s another easy one which is why I felt like talking about The Beatles. It came from my cookbook, Cooking Light. The authors of the recipe were kind enough to include a dressing recipe too which is your basic balsamic and oil dressing. If you are not aware of what that is, it’s an equal ratio of oil and vinegar sprinkled with salt and pepper to taste. The next step is to add sliced strawberries, onion, and basil with romaine lettuce. Then you lightly toss the salad with your dressing resulting in a light and tasty strawberry salad

IMG_0928

Amy’s Strawberry Salad

.

Leave a Reply

