A Not So Crabby Crab Dip

My next recipe is from Taste of Monroe County. I was just in Monroe County a couple of days ago actually. Monroe County, as I have mentioned earlier, is a county in Indiana. Most of my family and my best friend now live there. It’s the best city, in my opinion, to live in Indiana.

I get teased a lot there though, because Monroe County is where Indiana University resides. I went to IU’s rival school which is Purdue. I went to Purdue mainly because my boyfriend at the time was going there. I made sure that wasn’t the only reason, but I probably would have gone to IU if it wasn’t for him. I don’t regret this though. I have a lot of great memories of Purdue and one of my favorite roles was from a play I did while I was there.

I get teased by my Dad mostly because he is an IU alumni. My brother and sister are too. My brother likes to tease me every once in awhile along with my Dad, but my sister doesn’t seem to care. It’s all in good fun though. I especially like using my Purdue credit card when I’m in town and noting how often I get made fun of.

My brother always has to “warn” me to be careful about flashing my credit card around town. Not because someone might steal it, oh no, but because I’m basically flashing blue in Blood territory.

This recipe was as easy as an IU sorority girl, which is great, but also sad. Sad for the IU girl, great for the crab dip, in case you didn’t catch on.

The first easy step in this recipe is to dissolve a pack of gelatin in boiling water. Then you add mayonnaise and cream cheese. After those three ingredients are mixed you just add the remaining ingredients which are green onions, celery, and a can of crab meat. The recipe actually calls for 1-2 cans of crab meat, but I just put in one.

One seemed to be efficient. I felt like any more crab added would have taken away from the balance of flavoring. I seemed to make the right call because I brought this to a movie night gathering where it was completely devoured by my friends. I’ve discovered that anything with cream cheese tends to do that though. It’s the easiest trick in the book, like when an IU sorority girl… Ok, I’ll stop.

IMG_0872

Crab mix in a bowl

IMG_0873

A tasty treat for willowy black widows

Leave a Reply

