Tomatoes and Olive Oil

My next recipe is from The Italian Mamma’s Kitchen. This cookbook has, in my opinion, very standard Italian-American recipes. I made some bruschetta from this book, as well as a caprese salad. Both were delicious. I suppose they were simple too, but this next recipe is the easiest one so far. All it is, is tomatoes with olive oil and salt. That’s it.

I thought maybe since they had it in a cookbook there’d be something more elaborate to it, but no. I will say my mother used to do this all the time with tomatoes that she grew in our yard. She’s a half Italian mamma, with a kitchen. The only difference is that in this recipe you cut the tomatoe in half, scoop out the seeds, and pour the olive oil in the scooped out crevices. My mother would just slice tomatoes and drizzle olive oil on it. She also sprinkled pepper in addition to salt.

I think just slicing the tomato is fine though. It all depends on how you want to eat it. I’ve tried both. You get more juice when you ony slice the tomato in half, but it’s good either way. I also like having a bit of pepper with it too. So I do recommended adding that.

photo (3)

Leave a Reply

