You’re French Aren’t You?

03636

“Those French. They hate us, they smoke, they have a whole relationship with dairy products I don’t understand.” – French Kiss

I have nothing against French people. The few I’ve meant have been quite pleasant and we both seem to adore cheese so that’s sweet and wonderful. I just love the movie French Kiss and wanted an excuse to post a quote from it. This next recipe is a French one that involves dairy products though, so it fits.

This particular cookbook is called The French Farmhouse. When I was in high school I went through a French phase because I was taking French for my foreign language. This resulted in a desire to learn how to cook French food. So I asked for French cookbooks for Christmas and I received The French Farmhouse and French Classics. Back then I attempted to make chocolate mousse and some kind of cake. Neither one turned out right. I was disappointed and gave up trying to bake for a very long time.

I’m still not the best baker, so when I get to the desserts in these cookbooks it will be an interesting read I’m sure.

The recipe I turned out this time around is prunes stuffed with blue cheese and parsley. It’s supposed to be an appetizer, but I ate mine for dessert. It’s really, really easy to make. You just cut open a prune, scoop out the core, and add a bit of blue cheese inside. Then you bake it for only a minute in the oven and sprinkle parsley on top.

I almost didn’t even want to write a blog about this, because there really wasn’t much to say about the actual cooking process. So I’ll say this. Cheese is awesome with fruit. Do it. Eat it. Be French I guess.

photo (4)

Leave a Reply

