Tiny Worlds of Cheese with Olive Cores

Cheese is amazing! I love it so much! I could never be a Vegan. If someone told me I couldn’t have cheese anymore, I’m not sure I’d want to live. A world without cheese for this girl, is a sad one.

As you might have guessed my next recipe features cheese and comes from this wonderful cookbook.

photo_1Monroe County is a county from my homestate of Indiana. It is the county where Bloomington and Indiana University is located. This is not where I grew up though. I grew up in a town called Clinton which is about an hour and a half away from Bloomington. For my next entry I’m actually going to write about my hometown’s cookbook, so hooray for foreshadowing!

My parents love Bloomington so much that they have a condo there where they spend most of their weekends. I can’t say I blame them. It’s a cool little college town with some amazing restaurants. This cookbook is also amazing because some of these restaurants were kind enough to publish their recipes in this wonderful cookbook.

I’m still in the appetizer section, so this recipe is cheese puffs with olives on the inside. It was very easy to make. You mix grated sharp cheddar cheese with flour, a bit of hot sauce, pepper, salt, and some other spices.Then you slowly add in olive oil. Once the flour is down to the right consistency you just take an olive and wrap it up lovingly into a ball of cheese.

Once you have used up all of your mixture, you freeze the balls for 24 hours. Then you heat the oven for 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Once those 15 minutes are done, you have a plethora of tiny worlds of cheese.

When I finally got to taste them, they strangely reminded me of Cheetos. Not exactly, but similar. I was racking my brain for a good hour about what exactly they tasted like. Cheetos wasn’t quite right. Finally I figured it out. They are very similar to those highly addictive cheddar cheese biscuits from Red Lobster only with olives inside. Sounds a bit strange, but trust me, it’s good.

photo_2photo_3

Leave a Reply

